Clearwire Internet Service Reviews

Show reviews that mention
service clearwire internet customer money internet service modem account card contract
Filter review
Most helpful review

Refund Policy Review

I'm tired of my service not working right I need my money refunded soon as possible.
View full review
ID
#596354 Review #596354 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hamilton, Ohio
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Called to have service disconnected

On April 6th 2014 I called to have my service disconnected because I was moving not sure if they were a service provider in the area. When I called the customer services rep. said they do provide service at my new location so I agreed to continue with the service. When I moved in I could not receive any internet service tried for several days as the rep. kept telling me I should be able to receive internet service.When I called back to tell them I just wanted my account closed they began to try to sell me something else I said no just wanted to close out my account of course they had charged my credit card for services never rendered in April telling me they had a non refundable policy.I feel they knew they had no service in this area and just wanted the money. I will never do business with them again rather not have internet than give them my business.
View full review
ID
#480823 Review #480823 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pleasant Hill, California
Loss
$60
New Reviewer

Clearwire

Update by user Jun 28, 2013

Been on the line for 47 min now she keeps asking me for credit card and bank info. I said no I have your statements.I need to talk to someone else please told me none is there.

Original review posted by user Jun 28, 2013
Buy Now (866) 718-**** Visit My Account » Devices Coverage Support Welcome, Rebecca Howell Sign Out My Account Summary Billing JUL 10 Outstanding Balance: A payment of $51.47 was due on Jul 10, 2013 Previous Statements Date Statement Number Amount 06/11/2013 4-13****-**** $26.47 05/11/2013 4-13****-**** $51.47 04/11/2013 4-13****-**** $26.47 As u can see they say July is past due. Lolol it is not july!!!!! Every month they do this and then charge me a reconection fee. They are scaming reconection fees from me.They have shut off internet and arguing with me saying June is not paid when I know it was!!!! Customer ID: 624793 Previous Statements Date Statement Number Amount 06/11/2013 4-13****-**** $26.47 05/11/2013 4-13****-**** $51.47 04/11/2013 4-13****-**** $26.47 Billing FAQ My Services CLEAR Service Plan WiMAX Unlimited Mobile Internet Device CLEAR Spot Voyager REFURBISHED For detailed account information, please visit clear.com/my-account What is CLEAR? | Find a Store | Legal Information Follow UsFull Site » I have been on hold for 33 min and 33 sec
View full review
ID
#424374 Review #424374 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lincoln Beach, Oregon
Loss
$51
New Reviewer

Clear network is completely unreliable

Clear internet works well when it works, but in two months of service, I have experienced 3 long term internet outages, two of which has lasted longer than a week. Their customer service is completely inept, going to the same basic troubleshooting steps each time you call, even when a previous representative has tried them before. You basically have to spoon feed them possible solutions to try. The fact that it takes longer than a week to get an issue resolved alone makes this service useless. Horrible tech support, unreliable network, huge wast of time. Do not waste your time or money on this! Try it out, but abandon them at the first sign of internet issues. They won't be able to fix it.
View full review
1 comment
#594829

I agree with all of the above. Clearwire is the worst service ever.

There is no signal more often that there is a signal.

Customer service is awful. I am cancelling my service with clearwire.

ID
#338272 Review #338272 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bronxville, New York
New Reviewer

After service is installed ANY problem is YOURS!

Clear was installed in my home over a year ago and at first it was the BEST!!!!! Should have known it was too good to last! At the end of March 2012 billing could not get my payment to go thru...same card but it just wouldn't go thru?????? After 3 months of calling over and over...it was fixed!!! Wow we were back to happy campers.........wrong! Clearwire installed SYSTEM updates to improve service around 4/1/2012 and the gates of *** were opened! My phone service went from just a pain once in a while....to 0 for 6 weeks! My phone did not ring and messages went to voicemail on several occasions! Numerous calls were made to Customer Service/Tech support only to find out they have not a single person located in the U.S. other than Corporate! In the month of April I had to spend $60.00 extra on my cell # without help!!!!!!!!!! Enter FCC...which accepted my complaint and began an investigation! All I can say is unless you have nerves of steel, DO NOT EVER have DIGITAL Phone service!!!! Clear has outsourced ALL jobs and they use subs who they can pay minimal wage and if a person is killed building one of their towers...they have no fault, only the subs do!!!!
View full review
ID
#323477 Review #323477 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bellevue, Washington
New Reviewer

Ripoff ***-artist sales reps, abusive to employees too

clearwire reps are the worst I think or just not good. My girlfriend worked in a clearwire store in the florida mall. A rep there by teh name of Ravii she said basically harassed the *** out of her, yelled at her, lost her a sale, then verbally abused her, accused her of lying or hustling customers and fired her though he had no authority to. He was just blatantly hostile towards her for no reason and even made her lose a sale on purpose, though from what I heard this guy is a very aggressive sales person. He tried to make sure she didn't get the sale and then basically harassed and fired her. She had a very bad experience and nothing really happened and no one even addressed her about it. Also prior to that she went to sell there and another clearwire manager stole her customer and gloated to her about it. The male reps there treat the female ones like *** and just get off on either bullying them or stealing their sales or harassing them quite terribly. Also the sales rep who screwed up her sale, will use the mall address to put in customer orders if the customers have a bad signal at their house, which is absurd- so beware if youre buying from that rep or location. I'm not sure about the company or internet service but at this location just watch out for the *** sales reps they have there and some get off on intimidating and threatening females for kicks.
View full review
ID
#268488 Review #268488 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida

Rip off on lifetime membership

i paid last june for a life time membership and now it is not hornored. i dont think that is fair.i have tried since the new system started. and it still will not let me download music. if i paid for lifetime membership i should get wheather it has changed or not. i guess my money was was free for your company. i will pay my money to another company and i hope they are more hornorable to their customers!!! yes i am pissed and i hope you go bankrupt for cheating people out of their money. i am on disabiltry and my money is very important to me!!
View full review
ID
#233589 Review #233589 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bellevue, Washington
Loss
$39

Clearwire: Unjust, Unreasonable, and Money-Stealing Thieves

Do NOT go with Clearwire for your internet service provider! Beware!! They will drain your account by withdrawing money from it each month, EVEN IF you don't even use their god-awful service! The box they ship their *** mobile card or whatever lame equipment they send you isn't even opened yet, and they still take your money each and every single month, REGARDLESS IF YOU CANCEL, TOO! I called to cancel their service because I didn't even open the *** box they shipped, and yet, they have the audacity to keep stealing my money from me each month! I'M NOT EVEN USING THEIR LAME-*** SERVICE!! I didn't even activate whatever they sent me because I HAVEN'T EVEN OPENED IT!!! They've stolen nearly $300 already, and I DON'T EVEN GET ANY INTERNET SERVICE from them!!!! STAY AWAY! Trust me. They're the worst when it comes to any kind of customer service or getting a refund. THE WORST!
View full review
7 comments
#393016

I would have never chosen clearwire, they are in the most desperate and immorale state in the nation.

#368474

Yea they did this to me this morning, I never even had an account with them. Let a friend use the same card for clearwire almost a year ago and today they take my money.

***. I hearing lawsuit who's in?

#368473

Yea they did this to me this morning, I never even had an account with them. Let a friend use the same card for clearwire almost a year ago and today they take my money.

***. I hearing lawsuit who's in?

#358809

Please listen to the customer above. I am having the same experience with this CRIMINALS.STAY AWAY FROM THEIR SERVICE.

Two days ago they finally decided to refund me money that were illegally deducted from my account ... you can imagine charging me three times( multiple deductions) in the same month for just one one service. This morning i woke up and found out they deducted $57.48 on oct 11 while on oct 13 again they also deducted another $57.48.

I already call the complains dept of my bank and they promised to refund the money and go after them for the money. THIS CLEAR WIRE PEOPLE ARE CRIMINALS

#265644

I would think that you need to return your items that they sent? Of course you're not getting service, you say you haven't even opened the box.

And if you just signed up, chances are you signed a 12 month contract.

I have had them for 3 years now, without unresolved issues. They seem to resolve any issues that have came up.

#265488

If you signed up for their service you are obligated to pay for it...how, when, or even if you use the service is YOUR choice. And, if you haven't even set up the equipment or opened the box, how could you possibly expect to get any service from them?

I hope they "steal" $3,000.oo from you before it's all said and done. *** like you deserve it.

#608141
@PissedConsumer265488

:grin

View more comments (6)
ID
#228795 Review #228795 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bothell, Washington
New Reviewer

Clear double charged me when I authorized one time charge

I authorized a one time payment to Clear on behalf of my family member. I paid them on Sept. 15. On October 15, they charged my card again. I was on the internet, and I selected the option to be billed only once. They charged me again, and I did not authorize that charge! I know how to read, I've been reading since I was two years old! I would not authorize a recurring charge on my card for someone else! This company is no good! I wish they'd go out of business! And to be sure, I am talking about Clear, the ppl who are all over your tv screen, stores popping up everywhere! Dont do business with them!
View full review
ID
#204640 Review #204640 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bellevue, Washington
Loss
$100
New Reviewer

Public Service Notice: Beware of Clear.com

PLEASE SEE: http://www.tzlegal.com/news-cases/clearwire/ This summer, I took over a Clearwire contract from another unhappy customer (my old roommate). At the start, I was quoted a price of $40.00 a month (without a pre-scheduled increase) for 4G Wireless Internet Service by Clear.com. The original Clearwire equipment that I purchased didn't work properly, so Clear sent to me several different versions of the equipment - but none worked. Their 4G equipment could not get and hold a signal - continuous disconnects. I worked with Techs for hours. So after many calls, they finally sent me a (much slower) 3G/4G piece of equipment - And, I was told that my monthly service charge would go down to $25.00 per month since the 3G service would be much slower (and for all the trouble that I'd been through). A few days later, I find that my monthly service charge had been more than doubled to $55.00 per month. So I called CS and complained - and Clear.com (specifically a helpless supervisor named Sharon) begrudgingly lowered it to $40.00 temporarily, but said that it would rise again to $55.00 monthly in six months. And, if I didn't like it, too bad. I was welcome to take my business elsewhere. (!) I am still in shock. I did NOT agree to this contract! Clear.com did not provide the 4G Service OR the Price that they promised. ALL LIES! Before switching to Clear.com, I was paying much less per month with TimeWarner, and now I regret that I ever left. The deal I had with TimeWarner is no longer available. I feel that I have personally been victimized by a Bait-and-Switch SCAM by Clear.com. I also firmly believe that Clearwire has violated my rights as a consumer with Deceptive Trade Practices. And obviously, I am not alone in my complaints. DID YOU KNOW... About the national CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT that was filed against Clearwire? I didn't. I guess I found out the hard way. If you are considering Clear.com / Clearwire… DON'T! PUBLIC NOTICE: BEWARE of CLEAR.com!
View full review
ID
#196230 Review #196230 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Overland Park, Kansas

Clearwire

I signed up with Clearwire last year. Since that time I have relocated to a different state where clearwire does not have service. I cancelled my service with them March 2010. They have since been still charging me monthly fees stating that I have not returned the equipment. I did return the equipment. They then told me that in order for me to have the fees reversed i would need to fax a proof of move. I did fax the proof of move. They still continue to take money out of my account stating that I was being charged a termination and other credits owed to me for service I wasn't using disappeared and they claim they do not owe me that money.
View full review
ID
#186084 Review #186084 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
New Reviewer

CLEARWIRE IS TRYING TO RIP ME OFF!!!

i've had clearwire internet for about 4 years now with very few complaints (just a couple of connectivity issues) no big deal....TILL NOW!!! my service went down completely. after a few things they had me try, they determined it was my modem. fine, they overnighted me a new modem and told me to follow the instructions on returning the old one. my service went down on a sunday, i had a new modem on tuesday, sent the old one out on wednsday and a phone call on friday saying my debit card would not accept the charge of $211 for not returning the old modem????? (automated) still no big deal. i called them they said they recognized the error and would correct this. monday. i find my debit card is charged $211. issue i have to take up with my bank ($200 max per day) anyway, i just found out about this tonight when i noticed the charge and the billing dept. is closed. bank will now charge me for going minimum. thanks for letting me vent, i'll sleep better tonight.
View full review
1 comment
#276293

I was ripped off by clear wireless internet rep she charged my card 175 for a modem. I was not aware that I was going to be changed that amount until after they charged my credit card. They are a rip off.

ID
#144923 Review #144923 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bellevue, Washington

Clearwire rip off

Clearwire is a rip off it is like dial up then y ou can not return the modern to a store because they only send them back to they main office onece a month so they get a extra monh of charging you for there bad service with not even being on line, what a Joke do not use them. there customer servive peolple are rude. I had to give the modern to my son because it would not work were I lived . they new this and did nothing but offer a small discount for a month. The customer service sucks.
View full review
ID
#144583 Review #144583 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boise, Idaho
New Reviewer

Clearwire - Hooked and crooked

The reception through the modem is good to begin with, but slowly decays over the months of service. Following numerous calls to the tech assistance including one visit, we "must have some interference that the cause cannot be located." "But it worked well for 4 months and then degraded after that point in time" I stated. The response from some of the Clearwire reps was one of contradiction in root causes. Then the ultimate blast!! They have the incessant need to maintain your subscription and bleed you dry!! Try to cancel the service-it is auto renewing; you must cancel within a week of its expiration or it will auto renew for a year; make certain even that even though you are not using the service during this year and thwarting $30/month for an inoperable service, that you do NOT toss the modem - you will be charged $200. The only good thing is the information is provided to you from the US versus India - but you are screwed regardless!!!
View full review
ID
#136969 Review #136969 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California
Loss
$200

Clearwire customer service

I purchased my Clearwire Internet modem at a Best Buy in Modesto. The Clearwire rep at Best Buy stated that since I lived in San Jose (where Clearwire doesn't have service) it would be no problem to cancel my account with no financial penalties since I was only living part time in Modesto and Stockton. When I called to cancel my account I was told that I would be charged over $100 for early cancellation. They stated that they were not responsible for what their product rep told me when I first purchased the service. I decided to pay for the remaining months of service because it was cheaper. I told Clearwire employees that I had no intention of continuing service unless they were going to have service in the San Jose area. I paid up to the end of my contract. I also never received a return label to give Clearwire their modem back. They stated that this was not their fault and that I still needed to pay them for the service I didn't use after the contract fulfillment. I didn't know that they were going to continue to bill me, until they received their equipment. Where am I to return the modem and how would I know that they would be billing me for nonuse?
View full review
ID
#136713 Review #136713 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
New Reviewer

Clearwire is a Fruad

Clearwire's sales team team will do whatever it takes to get your business and then they will try to rape you financially. Be warned this company is not worth the trouble!!! They make all kinds of offers to pull you in, they'll even use false social security numbers, so beware!!! Thier service is questionable, you have to move your box around as if you are in the stone age, if there's any interference...forget about it!!! It's like waiting for paint to dry, Your computer may even crash if your not careful. Clearwire's days are numbered!!!
View full review
2 comments
#37598

Clearwire installs nothing on your computer and is only connected by an ethernet cable. The only way anything will crash your computer is if you go to someplace that has a virus or spyware link.

The other reason is that hardware eventually fails. With no other service can you carry your connection to a different location.

Clearwire can't break the laws of physics, the modem does need a line of sight, through radio signal, to tower. Putting the modem next to your computer or even on a microwave does not improve the modem's connectivity.

#32524

innercityphones@***.com :( :( :(

View more comments (1)
ID
#134250 Review #134250 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Loss
$391

Brands Related to Clearwire Internet Service

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article